With few local races contested on April 5, voter turnout was extremely light in Riverside. Races for the Riverside village board, Riverside Township board and Riverside Library board were all slam dunks for the candidates who chose to run.

Riverside President Harold J. Wiaduck Jr. and the entire slate endorsed by the Riverside Community Caucus were the only choices for voters in the village and will be sworn into office on
May 2, the board’s regularly scheduled meeting.

Joining Wiaduck on the board will be incumbent trustees Thomas Shields and Kevin Smith, along with newcomer Candice Grace.

Scheck, VIP slate win NR

Although the outcome was not much in doubt, voters turned out to support incumbent Mayor Richard Scheck, who won a fifth term in office by swamping Sylvester Hartigan. Scheck collected over 80 percent of the vote, winning 1,391 to 336.

Voter turnout was on the light side in the village, about 42 percent, but that total was significantly higher than the turnout in neighboring Riverside, which had no contested village or township government elections.

The rest of Scheck’s VIP Party slate, Clerk Charmaine Kutt and trustees Thomas Corgiat, Kenneth Krochmal and Joan Sargent, won reelection in unopposed races.

GOP slate wins Riverside Twp.

Also winning in an uncontested race was the Republican slate for Riverside Township. Township Clerk Vera Wilt, Assessor Schofield Gross and Supervisor Patricia Pavlich were the top vote getters in the election with 2,084, 2,070 and 2,102 respectively. Wilt’s higher total was undoubtedly helped by a stronger voter turnout in North Riverside, where Wilt lives.

The rest of the Republican slate, all incumbents, included Collector Adam Yurkiw and trustees Rich Tuscher, Ann Dynako Kubiczky, A. Wayne Gieseman and John Ertler.

Riverside, NR, BF library winners

While the race for the Brookfield Library board was contested, those in Riverside and North Riverside were not.

Winning election to four-year terms on the Riverside Library board were Stephan Kubiczky, Larry Forssberg and Susan Lindahl Kucera. Lia Brillhart won election to the unexpired two-year term on the ballot.

In North Riverside two incumbents, board President Annette Corgiat and Secretary Mary Lee won election to six-year terms on the Board of Trustees. Brad Lanken, also an incumbent, was elected to an unexpired four-year term, while incumbent Curtis Bley was elected to an unexpired two-year term.

In Brookfield, incumbents Carol Kissane and Margaret Blasage, both endorsed by the PEP Party, won reelection to the board with 3,593 and 3,108 votes respectively. Judith Sweet (2,637) edged Jonathan Platt out for the third library board seat by a total of 32 votes. Sweet was endorsed by the VIP Party and was the only VIP-endorsed candidate to win election last week.