Western Springs became a repeat winner at the Roy A. Overholt tournament by beating Lyons-McCook 8-2 last Thursday in the championship game of the 42nd annual tourney.

A year ago, Western Springs defeated Brookfield National 3-2 to take home the title. For Lyons-McCook, this is the second time they’ve finished as the tournament runner-up, thus matching its best finish. The other second-place finish came in 1986.

Brookfield National, last year’s runner-up, won the third-place game in this year’s tournament by beating Brookfield American 7-0. National lost to Western Springs 6-3 in the tourney quarterfinals, while American fell to Lyons-McCook 14-8 in its side of the bracket.