The Architecture Committee of the Frederick Law Olmsted Society, at its annual meeting on Jan. 20 at the Riverside Public Library, of Riverside presented two Preservation Awards for the effort to save the Avery Coonley Coach House from losing its architectural integrity.

The first award was presented to Charles Pipal, chairman of Riverside’s Preservation Commission, for recognizing the threat to the architectural integrity of the structure, alerting concerned preservation agencies and negotiating a plan to restore the roof of the home to its Prairie-style character.

The second award was presented to Dean and Ella Mae Eastman, who worked with the owner of the residence and concerned preservation societies to purchase the building and implement a plan to maintain it’s Prairie-style roof character.

In addition, the society presented a Restoration Award to the Village of Riverside for the restoration of its historic water tower.

According to a release issued by the group, “the restoration work preserves and reinforces the integrity and original character of a historical structure. It will significantly increase the life of the water tower.

Riverside President Harold J. Wiaduck Jr. accepted the plaque on behalf of the village.

Artful endeavors

Two Riverside artists and one Brookfield artists recently received $7,000 fellowships from the Illinois Arts Council in recognition of their outstanding work and commitment within the arts.

Riversider Julie Laffin was recognized in the New Performance Forms category, while Julia Rhoads was recognized in area of Choreography.

Brookfield composer Issa Boulos received his award in the field of Ethnic and Folk Arts.

Welcome aboard

?  At the Brookfield village’s board’s Jan. 9 meeting Courtney Foster Murphy was sworn in as a probationary firefighter/paramedic, while Mary Vyskocil was sworn in as a new member on the village’s Special Events Commission.

 Mark McEwan was sworn in as a Brookfield Police patrol officer at the village’s board’s meeting on Jan. 23. For the previous year, McEwen served the village as a probationary patrol officer. Also at the Jan. 23 meeting, Michael Fransen was appointed to the Village of Brookfield’s Public Safety Committee.

Window dressers

In January, the Village of Brookfield Recreation Department announced winners of its Holiday Window Decorating Contest, which was open to all businesses in the village. Judges included representatives from the Brookfield Area Women of Today, the Brookfield Jazz Society, Western Conference Baseball, Brookfield Rotary Club and the Brookfield Recreation Department.

Winning a $250 gift certificate for first place was Jacob’s Ladder, 9222 Ogden Ave. In second place with a $150 gift certificate was Betty’s Flowers and Gifts, 9138 Broadway Ave. In third place with a $75 gift certificate was Anytime Fun, 9213 Broadway Ave.

Flying high

One Brookfield resident officially achieved the rank of Eagle Scout last month, and two more will be honored this month at a Court of Honor Ceremony for reaching Boy Scouting’s highest level.

On Jan. 20, Michael Twist was honored at a ceremony held at the Stickney Community Health Center. On Feb. 26, two scouts from St. Louise De Marillac Troop 111, Andrew Hansen and David Zintak, will be similarly recognized.

On campus

?  Rhiannon Ardisana, of Riverside, was honored a a recipient of the Jonathan Baldwin Turner (JBT) Scholarship during a December banquet held at the Illini Union on the campus of the University of Illinois-Urbana. Ardisana is majoring in animal sciences and plans on becoming a veterinarian, perhaps in a zoo, conducting research on animal conservation and care. Ardisana graduated from Riverside-Brookfield High School and is the daughter of Robert and Corinne Ardisana.

? Trinity High School in River Forest has announced that Riverside resident Marijo Boskey was among 17 students named 2006 Illinois State Scholars. The program recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement who rank in the top 10 percent of the state’s 139,500 graduating seniors. Selection is based on ACT test results and the students’ class rank at the end of the junior year of high school.

? Brookfield resident Andrew Viscariello, a sophomore Latin major, was one of more than 220 students recently named to the Monmouth (Ill.) College Dean’s List for the fall semester. Students named to the Dean’s List must achieve a grade-point average of at least 3.667 on a 4.0 scale. He is the son of James and Pamela Viscariello of Brookfield.