Lyons Township’s Junior Varsity Hockey Club finished off a successful season by defeating Mt. Carmel in a best of three series 2-0 (winning 4-1 and 4-2) for the Suburban Illinois Hockey Club Association Championship and by defeating Guerin/Nazareth 5-4 for the Illinois Suburban Hockey League Championship.

LT’s Rhys Southworth and Jon Stachewicz dominated play on the offensive end in both championships by totaling nine goals and eight assists between them. Jeremy Dombro added two goals and an assist. Defenseman Teddy Girabaldi pitched in with a goal and two assists and senior Chris Pitelka played superbly in goal the entire series by making numerous saves.

“What a great weekend for LT hockey,” said coach Rich Southworth. “To win both the SIHCA and ISHL championships is really outstanding. The leaders on this team really stepped up in the playoffs.”

LT closed out the season with an overall record of 42-12-6.

Scaman rises to the occasion

Haley Scaman, a 6th grader at Hauser Junior High in Riverside, competed at the Level 7 Illinois State Gymnastics Meet in Springfield.

Scaman, 12, won the even bars, floor exercises and the all-around. She also placed sixth on the vault and fourth on the balance beam.

LT poms near top of pyramid

The Lyons Township High School varsity and junior varsity poms teams competed at the Halftime Illinois State Finals. The varsity team finished second in the kick category, third in the jazz category, and fourth in the pom category.

The junior varsity team placed second in the pom category.

Photo courtesy of xxx

Icecaps: The Lyons Township junior varsity hockey club capped off a stellar season by winning both the ISHL and SIHCA championships. The team was made up of Chris and Jon Pitelka, Joe Gallina, Rhys Southworth, Jeremy Dombro, Jon Stachewicz, Matt Wulff, Cem Onyuksel, Luc Bibeau, Dan McCroy, Matt Scheef, Teddy Garibaldi, Luke Wisher, Brian Tagney, Brian Trefil, Chris Perri, Paul Kasper, Matt Fiala, Adam Swiatek, Jessie Ciesla, Ryan Fregeau, Pete Leenheers, Emmett Burton and Charlie Pasquinelli.