The Riverside Branch of the American Association of University Women recently announced the winners of its annual poster contest, which celebrates the contributions of women throughout history.

In all, 176 fourth-grade children from Riverside School District 96 and St. Mary School participated in the contest, with 10 winners chosen by the AAUW judges. Each winner received a trophy and an Aunt Dian’s gift certificate for their efforts.

The winning posters were on display at the Riverside Public Library during the month of March.

The winners this year included Steve Haley (Eleanor Roosevelt), Olivia Meyer (Ginger Rogers) and Lulu Faust (Wilma Rudolf) of Ames School; Alessia Mollo (Jane Goodall) of Blythe Park School; Fierra Mulhern (Amelia Earhart), Evie Roth (Louisa May Alcott) and Elise Sedlack (Ruby Bridges) of Central School; Ewan Perry (Nancy Wake) of Hollywood School; and Vejas Cuplinskas (Marie Curie) and Karla Kalingo (Corazon Aquino) of St. Mary School.

Riverside resident Stephanie Duve has been named to the dean’s list at Michigan State University for the fall 2011 semester. A graduate of Riverside-Brookfield High School, she is a sophomore majoring in music education. Duve has also been awarded a Presidential Study Abroad Scholarship to study this summer in Todi, Italy.

Bridget A. Hannon, a sophomore majoring in English at the University of Rochester (N.Y.) has been named to the dean’s list for academic achievement for the fall 2011 semester.

Hannon is a resident of Riverside, a graduate of St. Ignatius College Prep in Chicago and the daughter of Edward Hannon.

Andreja Siliunas, a graduate of Trinity High School in River Forest and a resident of Riverside, received the Elias Compton Freshman Prize at the 42nd Annual Recognition Banquet at the College of Wooster (Ohio) in March.

The prize is awarded to the freshman student who has achieved the highest standing in scholarship during the first year at the college.

The following local students were named to the dean’s list at Augustana College in Rock Island for the 2011-12 winter term: Keegan Buttimer, of Riverside, a sophomore majoring in liberal studies; Alexander Dziagwa, of Brookfield, a freshman majoring in liberal studies; Brittany Hite, of Brookfield, a sophomore majoring in sociology and psychology; Isaac Lauritsen, of Riverside, a sophomore majoring in English and philosophy; Kaitlynn Markowski, of Brookfield, a sophomore majoring in liberal studies; Amanda Miller, of Riverside, a senior majoring in mathematics and art history; and Natalie Viscariello, of Brookfield, a junior majoring in physics.