The Cook County Clerk’s Office, on April 11, released its unofficial election results for North Riverside’s village-wide offices. Results were not available on the clerk’s website on election night, April 9, and are still not included in the clerk’s online election results.

The results, which don’t yet include early voting and mail ballot totals, remain unofficial. However, those results are not expected to make a large difference in the outcome.

Courtney Greve, spokeswoman for the Cook County Clerk, said the county hopes to have final results for the North Riverside village board races by April 23. Early ballot and mail voting totals should be ready by the end of this week, she said.

According to the latest totals, Hubert Hermanek won the uncontested mayoral race with 815 votes. While there were a number of write-in votes cast in this election for mayor, there were no write-in candidates officially recognized by the county clerk.

Rocco DeSantis was declared ineligible to serve by the Illinois Court of Appeals and a Cook County judge ordered his name stricken from the clerk’s list of official write-in candidates.

Meanwhile, the county clerk had previously declared George Georgopoulos ineligible to run as a write-in because he missed the candidate filing deadline. As a result, the county clerk will not count any votes written in for either DeSantis or Georgopoulos. However, when the clerk certifies the election results at the end of April, residents may find out how many ballots contained a write-in vote.

As far as the clerk and trustee results go, the latest numbers are slightly different than the ones available on election night. The results, however, remain the same.

VIP Party candidate Kathy Ranieri won the race for village clerk, collecting 756 votes. TAP Party candidate Peter Culafic received 504 votes in that race.

Candidates for the VIP Party swept all three trustee seats, with incumbent Vera Wilt topping the seven-person field with 734 votes, followed by Matthew Decosola (726) and Joseph Mengoni (725).

TAP candidates Marybelle Mandel (425 votes), Annabelle Downs (396) and Luigi “Gino” Labellarte (386) and independent candidate Richard Alvarez (200) votes did not win election.