Courtesy FEMA

Illinois residents who had damage from the severe storms and flooding between April 16 and May 5 have only 30 days left to register for FEMA disaster assistance.

Federal disaster assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

FEMA provides several ways for residents of the 33 counties included in the major disaster declaration to register by the deadline of Tuesday, July 9.

Currently, Disaster Survivor Assistance (DSA) crews are going door-to-door in hard-hit areas and also visiting senior centers, churches and other community gathering places. The crews are meeting with local officials and community leaders to provide additional support for determining where unmet needs exist.

The goal is to identify anyone who needs help – homeowners, renters, business owners, eligible nonprofit agencies and faith-based organizations. This includes people with disabilities, those with access and functional needs, seniors and people with limited English proficiency.

It is important to remember that FEMA staff members who assist residents with registration are federal employees. They have received federal security clearances and carry photo identification badges. Always ask to see an ID before giving personal information to anyone.

Another way to register for federal disaster assistance is to visit a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) operated by the state of Illinois and FEMA. The eight DRCs currently open are in Chicago and in Cook, DuPage, Peoria, Rock Island and Woodford counties; however, three are closing later this week. Hours are 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

North Park Village
5801 N. Pulaski, Bldg. C
Chicago, IL 60646

Royal Savings Bank
9226 S. Commercial Ave.
Chicago, IL 60617

Cook County
Forest View Fire Department
7010 W. 46th St.
Forest View, IL 60402

Cook County
1486 Miner St. (Next to Des Plaines Theater)
Des Plaines, IL 60016

DuPage County
Lisle Police Department
5040 Lincoln Ave.
Lisle, IL 60532

Peoria County (Closing June 14)
Chillicothe Fire Department (Fire Hall)
217 W. Chestnut St.
Chillicothe, IL 61523

Rock Island County (Closing June 12)
Rock Island County Emergency Management Agency
6120 78th Ave.
Milan, IL 61264

Woodford County (Closing June 14)
Woodford County Emergency Management Agency
301 S. Main St.
Roanoke, IL 61561

However, it is not necessary to visit a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) to register with FEMA. Individuals can register online at or via web-enabled phone at Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. People who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) can call 800-621-3362. For more information, visit the Illinois Disaster website

Multilingual phone operators are available on the FEMA helpline. Choose Option 2 for Spanish and Option 3 for other languages.

Have the following information handy to speed the process:

• Social Security number;
• Telephone number where you can be reached;
• Address of the damaged property;
• Current mailing address;
• Brief description of disaster-related damages and losses;
• Insurance information; and
• Direct deposit information to speed delivery of funds.

The 33 Illinois counties designated for FEMA Individual Assistance include: Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at,, and Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate’s activities at The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.