Courtesy FEMA

If you experienced damage from storms between April 16 and May 5, 2013, and live in one of the following Illinois counties, you may be eligible for FEMA assistance:

Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

FEMA Provides Various Ways to Register and to Check Your Claim Status.

Your first step to recovery is registering with FEMA. You can visit the nearest DRC, go online at, use web-enabled phone at, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (toll-free numbers operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week), (TTY) 800-462-7585, 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) 800-621-3362.

What is a DRC? A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), which may be mobile or a fixed facility, is staffed with FEMA specialists to serve the applicant with: information on disaster recovery, clarification of correspondence, housing assistance and rental resource information, and advice on how to rebuild or repair in a manner that will reduce the likelihood of damage from future storms.

DRCs are places where individuals can register for assistance, check the status of their claims and get referrals to other agencies that may provide assistance. Centers also are staffed with representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration who can provide information on loans.

What Does DSA Staff Do? Disaster Survivor Assistance (DSA) staff are FEMA employees who reach out to individuals in communities hit by disasters. These individuals, who carry FEMA identification, go door-to-door providing information on what FEMA can do for those who suffered damage. If desired, they can register individuals for FEMA assistance.