Things are destined to be different on the Lyons-Brookfield District 103 school board next month when four new members — all part of a slate backed by Lyons Village President Christopher Getty — are sworn in.

The Getty-backed slate, which had its own fundraising committee and campaigned aggressively — though mostly stayed away from public events — chewed up the 12-candidate field.

Winning election to the board for four-year terms were Michael “Mike” Bennett (1,309 votes), Coleen “Dawn” Shipbaugh (1,243) and Jorge “Rene” Torres (1,218). The single two-year term was won easily by Getty slate member Catherine “Katie” Broderick, whose 1,646 votes easily topped Earl Johnson (937).

The only incumbent left standing was longtime board member Joanne Schaeffer, who won yet another term on the board she’s served on since 1979. With all 16 precincts reporting, Schaeffer unofficially finished second in the race for four four-year terms with 1,265 votes.

Incumbents Kristen Goodman and Consuelo “Connie” Esparza, who were backed by District 103 school board President Sharon Anderson, finished at the bottom of the pack for the four-year terms with just 718 and 425 votes, respectively.

Schaeffer recruited a slate of candidates, which included Johnson, to fend off the Getty candidates, but fell short of keeping control of the board. Her slate mates, Lori Schuler, Jacqueline MacDonnell and Antonie “Toni” Parker, finished sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.