Lyons Township High School’s radio station, WLTL-FM, was named the Best Radio Station in the Nation at the 12th Annual John Drury High School Radio Awards held Saturday, Nov. 7, at North Central College in Naperville. 

It’s the sixth time WLTL has taken home the top honor, also winning in 2002, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2012. In order to win the award, stations must enter their programs in several different categories involving promotions, drama, news, sports and public service. The station with the most points wins the top honor of Best Radio Station.

In addition to winning the overall station award, WLTL students took home first place trophies in five of the 10 awards categories, the most of any school in the competition.

The John Drury High School Awards were created to acknowledge excellence in high school radio broadcasting. The awards were named in honor of award-winning ABC-Chicago news anchor John Drury.

Submitted by Lyons Township High School.