Riverside resident Dr. Jay Shannon, CEO of the Cook County Health and Hospitals System, has been named a “Physician Leader to Know” by Becker’s Hospital Review, which is published by healthcare trade publisher Becker’s Healthcare.

It’s the fourth consecutive year Shannon has been named to the list, which highlights physician leaders who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and clinical expertise throughout their careers.

Shannon joined John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County in 1990 after completing his medical training in pulmonary and critical care medicine. He directed Stroger’s Adult Asthma Clinic before serving as associate chair of the department of medicine and chief of the division of pulmonary and critical care medicine at Dallas-based Parkland Health & Hospital System. 

He was promoted to CMO of Parkland, where he served for five years, before rejoining Cook County Health and Hospital Systems in 2013 as chief of clinical integration. In 2014, the CCHHS Board of Directors appointed Shannon CEO of the agency.

Teacher wins grant

Susan Forcash, a teacher at Congress Park School in Brookfield, recently was awarded a $375 grant from the Illinois Retired Teachers Association to fund Breakout EDU kits for sixth-grade students. The program is an innovative way to allow students to use problem-solving skills and collaboration while learning.

The IRTA awarded 324 grants totaling $36,500 this year to allow teachers to enrich their instruction with materials otherwise not available to them.

Dance debut

Riverside resident Julia Rhoads, founder and artistic director of Lucky Plush Dance Theater, debuts its newest work “Rooming House” from Nov. 4 to 18 at the new Steppenwolf’s new 1700 Theatre at 1700 N. Halsted St. in Chicago.

“Rooming House” synthesizes contemporary dance and theater to create a blueprint for exploring the question: what makes a person do something that could have life-changing consequences?

Tickets are $15 to $40. For more information visit Steppenwolf.org, LuckyPlush.com or call 312-335-1650.

I’d be honored

Six members of the Czech and Slovak American Genealogical Society of Illinois, who volunteer at the Riverside Public Library, will be recognized at the Illinois Genealogical Society’s 2017 fall conference in Moline on Oct. 27-28.

The volunteers – Marianne Miklas, Mary Kamin, Victor Kos, Paul Nemecek, Dolores Benes Duy and Beverly Scheer — were nominated for the work by library officials. Each will receive a Community Service Award for the vast number of hours they donate, their commitment to researchers, the preservation of Illinois history and their assistance to library patrons.

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) selected Riverside Police Officer Joseph Mahanna to receive a special “Heroes” award for drunk driving enforcement, which they presented to him in September at a ceremony in Springfield.

MADD’s Northeast Illinois Law Enforcement Nomination Committee said the Heroes award recognized the “significant contributions Officer Mahanna has made to the fight against drunk driving.”


Riverside Police Chief Thomas Weitzel will deliver the keynote address at the Chicago Railroad Special Agent and Police Association annual banquet on Oct. 27 in Chicago.

He will speak about the challenges and accomplishments in law enforcement throughout the state and specifically in Cook County, including the topic of criminal justice reform.

On campus

Coleman K. Cornelius, of Riverside, was awarded a B.S. degree in commerce/business administration during the summer commencement ceremonies at the University of Alabama.

Riverside resident Skye Ozga is one of six Fenwick high School students named National Merit semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship program. Semifinalists include the highest-scoring entrants in each state and represent fewer than 1 percent of all high school seniors who took the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. They now have an opportunity to compete for one of the 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, which will be announced in July 2018.

Eleven other Fenwick students, including Riverside resident Nora O’Connor, were named National Merit Commended students, who placed among the top 50,000 scorers in the U.S.

A number of Brookfield residents were among the 444 Lyons Township High School students named AP Scholars in recognition of their exceptional achievement on college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

Exams are graded on a 1 to 5 scale (5 is the highest), a scores of 3 or more often qualify for college credit.

Among those Brookfield residents named AP Scholars (three exams with scores of 3 or higher) were Alicia Camuy, Michelle Dihn, Charlise Domabyl, Nyenna Gaye, Josue Gonzalez, Hunter Jasinski, Tiffanie Jones, Adam Kneebone, Brianna Liddle, Andrea Serrano, Kyle Sievers, Connor Trimborn and Victor Vila.

AP Scholars with Honor (average 3.25 score and scores of 3 or above on four exams) included Lydia Olson and Amber Troesch.

AP Scholars with Distinction (average 3.25 scores and scores of 3 and above on five or more exams) included Antonio Giron, Miles Hession and Elizabeth Strzelczyk.

National AP Scholars (4 on all exams taken, scores of 4 or higher on eight or more exams) included Elizabeth Strzelczyk.