Antonio Giron

Earlier this month, five Illinois high school seniors were awarded the Western Golf Association’s Chick Evans Scholarship, a full, four-year housing and tuition scholarship offered to golf caddies.

Among those chosen for the scholarships were North Riverside residents Maximiliano Alvarez and Jack Xin and Riverside residents Massimo Flight and Erik Robertson.

WGA directors, Evans Scholars alumni and other program supporters interviewed each of the nominees at the selection meeting. The full tuition and housing college scholarship is valued at an estimated $100,000 over four years.

All four are caddies at Riverside Golf Club in North Riverside. When the 2017-18 selection meeting process is completed by April, and estimated 275 caddies are expected to be awarded the Evans Scholarship.

Alvarez, Robertson and Xin are all students at Riverside-Brookfield High School, while Flight is a senior at Fenwick High School in Oak Park. Next fall, Xin will be headed off to University of Michigan, while the three others will attend the University of Illinois.

Scholarship funds come mostly from contributions by golfers across the country, who are members of the Evans Scholars Par Club program. Evans Scholars Alumni donate more than $10 million annually, and all proceeds from the PGA’s BMW Championship are donated to the Evans Scholars Foundation.

League of Women
Voters recognized

The members of the League of Women Voters of the LaGrange Area recently were recognized by the National Voter registration Day organization as a Top 100 performer nationwide.

The LaGrange Area League was among the top 3.5 percent of more than 2,800 participating organizations who registered voters in September 2017. The newly registered voters included college students, recently naturalized citizens and elderly voters who have a difficult time registering in person or online.

Those voters were able to participate in the 2018 spring primary elections.


Riverside police officer Brian Greenenwald was one of six members of Illinois State University’s College of Applied Science and Technology (CAST) inducted into its Academy of Achievement on April 19.

The Academy of Achievement brings together CAST alumni who are leaders in their field and who serve as an inspiration to others to pursue similar career paths. Greenenwald received his B.S. in criminal justice sciences from the college in 2007.

On campus

Katherine Alaks and Meaghan Dorsey, both of Brookfield, were named to the 2018 winter term dean’s list at Knox College in Galesburg.

Justin Chaney, of Riverside, was named to the 2017 fall semester dean’s list at Washington University in St. Louis. Chaney is enrolled in the university’s Olin Business School and achieved a semester grade-point average of at least 3.6 on a 4-point scale.

Ema Bothwell a Brookfield resident and student at Park Junior High in LaGrange Park, was awarded a scholarship from the Omron Foundation to attend a two-week visit to the More no Ike Japanese language village during its summer program at Concordia Language Villages in Minnesota.

Scholarship recipients can immerse themselves in one of many languages at the camp. Each language is taught in an architecturally authentic village. Students not only speak the language, they participate in activities and eat the cuisine common to the region.

Riverside-Brookfield High School junior Patrick Hanley was recognized by the West 40 Intermediate Service Center as the recipient of the 2018 SCOTY (School Citizen of the Year) Award.

Lyons Township High School senior Antonio Giron, of Brookfield, was one of four Advanced Placement students who participated in the 2018 Illinois Economics Challenge state finals held at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. LTHS placed among the top 10 teams in the state. 

Hanley was recognized for his commitment to academic success and positive contributions to the school community through his leadership in and out of the classroom.

Brookfield resident Daniel Lada was one of 12 student-athletes at Lyons Township High School signing letters of intent recently to play intercollegiate sports at the National Spring Signing Day. Lada will play lacrosse for Aurora University next year.

Several local students were named to the honor rolls at Nazareth Academy in LaGrange Park for the third quarter of the 2017-18 school year:

A Honor Roll: Brookfield residents Grace Acosta, Gwenyth Acosta, Leilani Dodson, Braden Schneider and David Sullivan and Riverside residents Matthew Ivansek, Carlie Merola and Elizabeth Pilarz.

B Honor Roll: Gunnar Hendrix, John Mangan and Archer Wagner and Riverside resident Isabella Brick.

Several students on the Riverside-Brookfield High School math team qualified for the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM) state competition in May at the regional event held in February.

Winning automatic bids to the state meet was Jason Kenny, who placed third in Pre-Calculus. The eight-person Junior/Senior team of Luka Malovic, Andres Resto, Joey Vitek, Elise Wojack, Kaitlin Gaynor, Mary Clare Greelees, Radka Pribyl-Pierdinock and Jacob Wardzala placed first to qualify as well. The Orals Team of Jackson Hajer and Kenny also placed first to move on.

Winning an at-large bid to the state competition was the Pre-Calculus Team of Hailey Jurgens, Gaynor, Greenlees, Hajer, Kenny and Wardzala.

Riverside-Brookfield High School Scholastic Bowl team members Ben Harrison, Lindsey DeJesus, Matthew Michaelson and Erik Robertson were named to the Metro Suburban Conference all-conference team after the team finished second at the MSC tournament.