Chris Kudla

JoAnne Kosey was sworn in for a second term as president of the Riverside Township Lions Club by former District 1A Governor Ralph Zarada at the club’s annual installation dinner in June in the Scottish Home in North Riverside.

Kosey is a columnist for the Riverside-Brookfield Landmark.

New officers who were sworn in are Andy Sitkiewicz, first vice president; Diana Ceragioli, second vice president; and Gerry Stutz, third vice president. Treasurer Dave Moravecek and Secretary Chuck Courtney will remain in their positions.

Others installed are Chet Biedron, tail twister, and Adam Yurkiw and Jon Jansky, Lion tamers.

Elected to one-year terms on the board of directors were Eric Sundstrom, Brian Ganan, Tom Sisulak and Frank Gangware. Elected to two-year terms were Phil Polanski, Joe Kosey, Dr. Jay Van Cura and Robert J. Lifka.

Permanent directors are Llewellyn Heine, Jerry Kosik, Donald McDowell, Walter Pierce, Bill Scanlon, Jansky, Jack Wiaduck, Olga Sylvester, Joe Dvorak IV and Alex Gallegos.

Organizations serving Riverside Township selected to receive donations this year include the North Riverside and Riverside public libraries to purchase materials for hearing impaired and visually impaired patrons, PeopleCare and the Riverside Township Food Pantry.

Other west suburban organizations selected to receive donations this year include Pillars in Berwyn; Helping Hand Rehabilitation Center in Countryside; Seguin Services Inc. in Cicero; and Aging Care Connections in La Grange.

In addition, donations were given this year to the Chicago Lighthouse for the Blind, Second Sense, Hadley School for the Blind, Chicago Hearing Society, Eversight, the Fisher House at Hines VA Hospital, Dogs for the Deaf and Live Out Loud.

Donations also were made to hurricane relief efforts and charitable Lions Club causes.

I’d be honored 

Four Riverside police officers were recently recognized by the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists (AAIM) for their work in removing impaired drivers from roadways in 2017.

Officers Brian Greenenwald, Joseph Mahanna, Isaac Hamilton and Chris Kudla each received a certificate of appreciation in July after combining for 96 total arrests for driving under the influence last year.

Police Explorer excels

Riverside Police Explorer Quinn Robertson, 16, of Riverside, placed third out of a field of more than 600 in the 14-16 age group in the bike policing competition at the National Law Enforcement Exploring Conference at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, in July.

Robertson was one of six members of Riverside Police Explorers Post #390, along with two advisors, attending the week-long conference for those contemplating careers in law enforcement.

Area LWV members attend conference

The League of Women Voters of the LaGrange Area was represented by 15 members at the 53rd National League of Women Voters’ Convention on June 28-July 1 in Chicago.

Local delegates included Local included Ann Lee and Patty Rocco, who represented the LaGrange League; Krista Grimm for the Lake Michigan regional chapter; and volunteers Eileen Breslin, Siobhan Greene, Mary Klonowski, Melissa Lieb, Veronika Lieb, Mary McGovern, Janice Miller, Cynthia Schilsky, Laurie Sinden, Laurie Braun and Joyce Williams. Mary Lou Lowrey was the LaGrange League delegate to the pre-convention annual meeting of the Lake Michigan and Upper Mississippi Region Leagues. 

The event kicked off a two-year celebration of the 100th Anniversary of women gaining suffrage in 1920 and also the establishment of the League of Women Voters.

On campus

Joseph T. Lendabarker, of Brookfield, graduated summa cum laude from DePaul University in June with a bachelor’s degree in history. He will pursue a master’s degree in education through the U.S. Department of Education’s TEACH program.

Tess Gresik, of Brookfield, a graduate of St. Ignatius College Prep in Chicago, received a $2,500 scholarship for her college education from Marquette Bank, which awarded 57 such scholarships to Chicago area graduating seniors. Gresik will attend St. Mary’s College in the fall.

At the annual University of Jamestown (North Dakota) honors convocation this spring, Liliana Cortes, of Brookfield, was inducted into the Alpha Gamma Honor Society, which admits membership to students who have received grades of A in at least two courses in the same foreign language at the college level.

Justin Chaney, of Riverside, was named to the 2018 spring semester dean’s list in the Olin School of Business at Washington University in St. Louis for earning a semester grade-point average of at least 3.6 on a 4-point scale.

Lyndsey Hoyd, of Brookfield, was named to the dean’s list for the 2018 spring semester dean’s list at Johns Hopkins University for earning a GPA of at least 3.5. She is the daughter of Kristin and Gary Hoyd and a graduate of Riverside-Brookfield High School.

Riverside resident Andrew Salij was named to the 2018 spring semester dean’s list at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota, for attaining a semester GPA of at least 3.75. Salij, a chemistry major, is the son of Kristine Herbst and Roman Salij. He is a graduate of the Illinois Math and Science Academy.

Moira Dunn, of Riverside, was named to the 2018 spring semester dean’s list at Augustana College in Rock Island.

Riverside resident Danny Zontos was named to the 2018 spring semester dean’s list at Lewis University in Romeoville. Zontos, an aviation flight management major, earned a semester GPA of at least 3.5.

Bridget Halvey, of North Riverside, was named to the 2018 spring semester dean’s list at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, for earning a semester GPA of at least 3.5.