There were no surprises as the nominating petition filing period which ended in Brookfield on Dec. 17.

Three candidates running as a slate under the Brookfield Community Party banner turned in their petitions on the afternoon of the final day. The PEP Party, which has held every elected position in village government since 2005, filed nominating petitions on the first day of filing, Dec. 10.

Challengers Mark Rogers, Joshua Jones and Tom Galbraith will face off against a slate of three PEP Party candidates, incumbent David LeClere and newcomers Katie Kaluzny and Brian Conroy.

Rogers has held office before, having previously served on the Lyons-Brookfield School District 103 Board of Education, including a stint as president. Conroy also has school board experience, having served for six years on the Brookfield-LaGrange Park District 95 Board of Education.

LeClere has served on the Brookfield Village Board in two non-consecutive terms and previously served on the village Playgrounds and Recreation Commission and Special Events Commission. Kaluzny has served on the Brookfield Conservation Commission.

Jones made an unsuccessful run for trustee in the 2011 election but never made it to the ballot after his nominating petitions were challenged. Galbraith is new to village politics.

There are three trustee seats in play for the April 2, 2019 Consolidated Election.

Brookfield Library race uncontested

Four people, including three incumbents, have filed to run for the four Brookfield Public Library trustee seats on the April 2 ballot.

Running for another term are library board President Linda Kampschroeder and fellow incumbents Jennifer Mack Perry and longtime board member Dianne Duner.

Making his second bid – this time assured – run for a seat on the library board is J. Edgar Mihelic, who ran unsuccessfully in 2017. Mihelic currently is vice president of the Foundation for the Brookfield Public Library, which is leading the capital campaign to raise money for the construction of a new library. 

No contest for Riverside village, library boards

Riverside voters won’t have much choice next April when it comes to selecting candidates for the village board and library board. Both races will be uncontested.

Filing to run for the three open seats on the village board are Cristin Evans, Alex Gallegos and Edward Hannon. 

All will be new to the board of trustees and will replace incumbents Joseph Ballerine, Scott Lumsden and Michael Sedivy, who chose not to run for re-election.

The minimum number of candidates also filed to run for seats on the Riverside Public Library Board. All are incumbents.

Four people are running for the four full terms up for election, including Kenneth Circo, Courtney Greve Hack, Jennifer Pacourek and Patrick White.

Meanwhile, Michael Hagins is running as the lone candidate for a two-year unexpired term. Hagins was appointed to the library board in May 2017 after the last election when just two people ran for three open seats. Because he was appointed, Hagins had to run in 2019 to complete the term.