The school board races in Riverside Elementary School District 96 and Komarek District 94 for the April 2 Consolidate Election. 

In District 96 there are three candidates for three seats on the board. Incumbents Shari Klyber and Lynda Murphy are assured of second terms. They will be joined on the District 96 school board by newcomer Wesley Muirheid, an underwriting manager for Liberty Mutual Insurance, and the father of twins who are in kindergarten at Ames School.

Incumbent Rich Regan will be stepping down after a little more than four years on the District 96 school board. Regan will move on to the Triton College Board of Trustees in the spring, since he is one of three candidates running for three seats on that board this spring. 

Riverside resident Jay Reyes is stepping down from the Triton College board this year after serving one term.

There will no changes on the Komarek School District 94 Board of Education, where there is another uncontested race. Five candidates, all incumbents, are running for five seats on the board in the April 2 election. 

Brian Jicha and Rashida McKelvin, who were appointed to the school board in 2017, are running for two-year terms, while board President Christopher Waas and board members Sue Brogdan and Carolyn Lach are running for four-year terms.