The first day for candidates filing nominating petitions for municipal offices at village halls in Riverside and Brookfield was a quiet one, with just one slate of candidates dropping off packets in each location.

In Brookfield, waiting at village hall at 8 a.m. when the doors opened to prospective candidates, was Kit Ketchmark who filed nominating petitions for the PEP Party’s slate of candidates for president, clerk and trustee. 

Michael Garvey, who is wrapping up his second consecutive term as a trustee and who previously served two terms as president, will run again for village president. 

Ketchmark, who is wrapping up his second term as president after serving two terms as trustee, will run again as a trustee candidate, joined by incumbent Trustee Edward Cote and Jennifer Hendricks, a member of the Brookfield Planning and Zoning Commission.

Brigid Weber, the incumbent village clerk, will seek re-election to that post. She served as clerk from 2006-13 and from 2015 to the present.

There’s still time for challengers to file nominating petitions, which must be in the hands of the village clerk’s office by 5 p.m. on Dec. 21.

For the last election for village president in 2017, a slate of candidates filed petitions with just an hour to spare on the final day of filing. A slate of three trustee candidates who ran in the 2019 election also filed petitions on the final day.

It is unclear when Brookfield last held an uncontested election.

Riverside Caucus-endorsed slate submits petitions

The story was similar in Riverside, where contested elections for village offices have been the exception during the past decade-plus.

Candidates endorsed in October by the Riverside Community Caucus have formed a slate running under the banner Riverside 2021. Joseph Ballerine, a former two-term trustee, is the slate’s candidate for president while the trustee candidates include incumbent Doug Pollock, Riverside Preservation Commission member Aberdeen Marsh-Ozga and attorney Megan Claucherty.

Incumbent Trustee Wendell Jisa, who was not endorsed by the caucus, did not file nominating petitions on Monday, but he has previously said he will seek re-election.

Brookfield Library candidates file

Also filing nominating petitions on Monday were three incumbent Brookfield Public Library trustees, who will seek another term in office. There are three four-year terms up for election in 2021.

Running for a remarkable 11th term on the library board is Carol Vaughan Kissane, who is finishing up her 40th year as a trustee. Also running for re-election are Jeanne McTeague, who seeks her second consecutive term, as well as Adam Burghgraef, who won election to a four-year term in 2017 after serving out two years as an appointee following the resignation of Judith Sweet in 2015.

In Riverside, where there are also three four-year library terms up for election, just one candidate filed nominating petitions on the first day, Dec. 14. Filing for a seat on the library board was first-time candidate Christine Long.

Among those up for re-election are three incumbents, including library board President Joan Wiaduck and board Treasurer Michael Flight. 

The seat of another incumbent, Michael Hagins, who won election to a two-year term in 2019, is also up for election. Hagins was appointed to the position in 2017, after only two candidates ran that year for three open seats.

This story has been changed to reflect that no one has been able to confirm definitevely when Brookfield last held an uncontested election.