UPDATED: Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2022 at 9 a.m.

All five incumbents on the Riverside-Brookfield High School District 208 Board of Education whose terms expire next year say they plan to run for re-election. The filing period for school board candidates begins on Dec. 12 and runs through Dec. 19. 

To get on the ballot school board candidates must submit nominating petitions with at least 50 valid signatures of voters within the district.

Mike Welch, who was appointed to the school board to fill a vacancy in 2021, said he plans to run for the two-year term up in April to complete the term of Ramona Towner, who resigned from the school board in September. Welch had previously served on the RBHS school board from 2009 until 2017. 

Former Komarek school board member Carolyn Lach was appointed in November to replace Towner. When she last spoke to the Landmark, Lach said that she hadn’t decided whether to run for a two- or a four-year term on the school board in April.

The other District 208 incumbents running for re-election are school board President Deanna Zalas, longtime board member Laura Hruska and Bill Durkin.

Hruska will be seeking her fifth term on the RBHS school board. She first won a seat in 2005, was defeated when she ran for re-election in 2009, but ran again and won a seat in 2011. She was re-elected in 2015 and 2019.

Zalas and Durkin are both completing their first terms on the school board.

Five school board seats up in D95

There will also be five seats up for election on the Brookfield-LaGrange Park District 95 school board in April, three four-year terms and two two-year terms.

District 95 school board President Katie Mulcrone and board member Jackie Jordan both told the Landmark that they are running for another term on the school board. 

Mulcrone, Jordan and Meaghan McAteer are all completing their first terms on the District 95 school board. McAteer did not respond to a telephone call or text message asking if she was going to run for another term.

Elizabeth Loerop and Melissa Biskupic were appointed to the District 95 school board and both those seats will be up for two-year terms in April. 

Loerop was appointed to the school board in 2019 after only three candidates filed for the four seats up for election that year. Last year, Biskupic was appointed to fill a vacancy created when Kyle Wood resigned because he moved out of the district. 

Loerop told the Landmark that she plans to run for a seat on the school board. Biskupic, however, will not be running to remain on the school board.

“I came on the board during COVID to help with having a medical presence on the school board for that,” Biskupic said. “My kids both are no longer in District 95 and I’m watching their years slip away.”

Murphy won’t run in D96 race

Three seats are up in Riverside Elementary School District 96. Incumbent Wesley Muirheid said he plans to run for a second term on the school board, but Lynda Murphy has decided that eight years is enough and will not run for a third term. 

The last time she spoke to the Landmark, Shari Klyber said she hadn’t decided whether to run for a third term on the school board. Klyber did not respond to a phone call or text message on Monday asking if she had decided yet whether to run for another term.

Three seats in play in D204

Three seats on the Lyons Township High School District 204 school, currently held by school board President Kari Dillon, Alison Kelly and Jill Beda Daniels, will be on the ballot in the April election. 

Dillon told the Landmark that she is “strongly considering” running for another term. Beda Daniels appears to be running for second term on the board as she was collecting signatures on her nominating petitions at the school board’s Dec. 5 Committee of the Whole Meeting. 

Kelly told the Landmark that she is still undecided about whether to run for another term on the school board.