Recent Riverside-Brookfield graduates who will play college athletics include (from left) Joaliz Rodriguez, Bryce Pacourek, William Martin, Alex Svora, Ava Connerty, Jake Tyler, Ava Regan, Zack Gaynor, Emma McVicker, Ryan Novak, Lena Lembcke, Arius Alijosius, Ava Marrello and Sebastian Ciszewski. Luke Yachnin is not pictured. | Photo courtesy of Brendan Curtin

The Riverside-Brookfield High School sports season recently concluded with special honors for its senior class.

Bryce Pacourek and Zack Gaynor were named Senior Athletes of the Year.

Sophie Swicionis and Sam Royer were named Senior Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

On May 9, several RBHS seniors were recognized as they prepare to continue competing on the collegiate level. 

The group included Gaynor (Trine University) for boys track and field and cross country; Pacourek (University of St. Thomas), Joaliz Rodriguez (Elmhurst) and Alex Svora (Concordia-Wisconsin) for girls track and cross country; Ava Connerty (Minot State) for girls track; Luke Yachnin (Illinois Institute of Technology) and Jake Tyler (Morton College) for baseball; Sebastian Ciszewski (Aurora) for boys volleyball; Ava Regan (Chapman University) for girls lacrosse; Arius Alijosius (Winona State) for boys basketball; Ava Marrello (Triton) for girls basketball; William Martin (Augustana) for boys wrestling; Ryan Novak (Augustana) for football; and Emma McVicker (Augustana) for girls swimming and diving.

LTHS senior awards

Lyons Township High School recognized Cooper King with the Charles “Chuck” Bennett Award and Becky Phillips with the Hubbard-McKee Award as the best male and female athletes among this year’s senior class.

The Coaches’ Medal Award for leadership and citizenship in student affairs went to Niklas Polonowski and Ally Cesarini.

The Donald Francis Lange Memorial Awards for character, leadership, scholarship and athletic ability were given to Graham Smith and Catherine Sommerfeld.

The Stenger Medal Awards for best in all-around participation, good citizenship and sportsmanship went to Danny Pasko and Maeve McDougal. 

The U.S. Army Reserve Scholar-Athlete Award recipients for four-year team members in high academic standing went to James Georgelos and Maggie Adler.

The Richard Strauch Student Assistant of the Year recognizing loyalty, promptness and dependability went to Jeremiah Woods.

The Student Athletic Trainer of the Year for effort, dedication and service went to Edith Gonzalez.