In July, Riverside Police Chief Thomas Weitzel announced that patrolmen Leo Kotor, Jeff Miller and Brian Greenenwald were honored by the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists (AAIM) for their DUI enforcement efforts. The three officers accounted for the majority of the 59 DUI arrests made in Riverside in 2009.

Riverside raffle winners

The Riverside Township Lions Club has announced the winners of its annual Independence Day raffle.

Michaela Esposito won the $250 savings bond donated by Riverside Bank; Kay Subaitis won the $100 savings bond donated by First American Bank and Dennis Ceragioli won two $25 gift cards, donated by Standard Federal Bank and Co., North Riverside Branch, and a $50 gift card, donated by PNC Bank in Riverside.

Organizations serving Riverside Township that received donations from the Lions this year include the North Riverside and Riverside public libraries to purchase materials for the hearing-impaired and visually-impaired; the anti-drug programs at Riverside-Brookfield High School and Hauser Junior High School in Riverside; Boy Scout Troops 24 and 92; Explorer Post 390, sponsored by the Riverside Police Department, and Post 16, sponsored by the Riverside Fire Department; PeopleCare in Riverside; Riverside Township; Girl Scout Troop 4590; and the Riverside Historical Commission.

Other west suburban organizations receiving donations this year include Pillars in Berwyn; Helping Hand Rehabilitation Center in Countryside; Scottish Home in North Riverside; Seguin Services Inc. in Cicero; and the Aging Care Connections in La Grange.

In addition, donations were given this year to the Chicago Lighthouse for the Blind, Chicagoland Radio Information Services, Guild for the Blind, Hadley School for the Blind, Recording for the Blind, Chicago Hearing Society and the Illinois Eye Bank.

Donations also were made to Camp Lions, Vision First and the Lions Governor’s Fund, endeavors associated with Lions International.


Doug Robertson, a member of Riverside Police Explorer Post #390 achieved the “Chairman’s Twenty” Award for Marksmanship at the annual National Law Enforcement Exploring Conference, a week-long event held at Georgia Tech in Atlanta in July.

The award goes to Explorers who achieve the best 20 possible scores in the 9 mm handgun competition. Robertson, 17, finished with the 16th highest score in a field of about 600 shooters.

In like a Lion

Three new members joined the Riverside Township Lions Club in June, giving the club 11 new members in 2010. The most recent inductees are Chris Isit, Joe Johnson and Marjorie Lewe. Earlier this year, Mary Rob Clarke, Paul Stack and Scott Shalvis were also inducted into the club.

On campus

Three Brookfield residents were among the 1,500 students receiving bachelor’s degrees from Eastern Illinois University during the institution’s spring 2010 graduation ceremonies.

Among the graduates were Beth L. Michiels, Bachelor of Science in education; Rosalina F. Pecora, Bachelor of Arts; and Mario R. Shermack, Bachelor of Science.

Jessica Steele, of Brookfield, was named to the dean’s list for the 2009-10 academic year at Lake Forest College. A graduate of Riverside-Brookfield High School, Steele attained a grade-point average of at least 3.6 for two consecutive semesters.