With 15 of 16 precincts reporting in Riverside District 96 at 10:20 p.m., it looked as if incumbent Hareena Meghani-Wakely was turned aside by voters in favor of three newcomers to the board, David Kodama, Arthur Perry and Michael O’Brien.

Meghani-Wakely trailed O’Brien by 145 votes with one precinct still untallied. Kodama’s vote total neared 2,000 votes as the Landmark’s deadline approached, while Perry tallied 1,779 votes.


Stanek leads the way in D95

Longtime teacher Doris Stanek crossed paths with many families during her tenure in District 95. That kind of name recognition apparently paid off as Stanek was the top candidate in the race for three open seats on the D95 board, snagging 1,708 votes (30.6 percent).

Re-elected to the board were incumbents Lynn Waterloo and Christopher Blackburn, while Brian Elwart finished fourth.


Incumbents hang on in D103

Despite a serious challenge by a slate of candidates backed by Lyons Village President Christopher Getty, three incumbents retained their seats on the Brookfield-Lyons School District 103 board.

Joanne Schaeffer, David DeLeshe and Deanna Viti-Huxhold outlasted all five candidates backed by Getty. But with four four-year seats up for grabs, Getty-backed candidate Mitch Milenkovic won a spot on the board.

Meanwhile, newcomer John Kiser defeated Getty-backed candidate Doug Lane for the one two-year term up for election.

“I was very nervous,” said Schaeffer of the concerted challenge against the incumbents and the implicit political impact on the board if the slate won a majority. “I’m just happy the school board is OK. We have good board members who deserved to be elected.”

When the smoke cleared, the incumbents won pretty handily.

Schaeffer led the way with 1,913 votes, followed by DeLeshe (1,649) and Viti-Huxhold (1,511). Milenkovic was the nearest competitor, winning 1,282 votes. Lilia Ortiz-Rivera (1,096), James Dever (1,047), Al Ermitage (922) and Daniel Rank (828).

  Three incumbents win in D102

With all 24 precincts reporting in the race for the school board in LaGrange-Brookfield District 102, the night went primarily to incumbents. In addition, three out of the four candidates endorsed by the District 102 Delegate Assembly won election to the school board.

Taking in the most votes (2,014) was incumbent Joyce Easter Fitch, who won re-election to the board along with her campaign running mate, incumbent and board president, David May (1,921).

Also re-elected to the school board was incumbent Dawn Aubert, who finished just one vote behind newcomer Matthew Scotty (1,964).

Scotty, Fitch and May were all endorsed by the Delegate Assembly, although the latter two declined the group’s support and ran alongside two incumbents, Aubert and Donald Sands.

Sands, who was appointed to the board in July 2010, finished fifth with 1,605 votes. Also falling short were Peter Daniels (1,567), who had been endorsed by the Delegate Assembly, and Kay Mautz (852), a former teacher who ran independently.

Peter Tiemeyer won election to a two-year term on the board in an uncontested contest.


Two Broadview residents win in D94

Broadview residents Jon Hoadley and Diane Little won election to the Komarek School District 94 board Tuesday night, edging out incumbent Al Sarro, who was appointed to the board in 2009.

Winning re-election were top vote-getters Christopher Waas, the current D94 vice president, and Patricia Martinson.


Click on a district to see the results.