U.S. Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-3rd) announced May 20 that Brookfield resident Keith Miller was one of three high school seniors from the 3rd Congressional District appointed to one of the U.S. military service academies for the 2011-12 school year.

Miller, who will begin his summer training session soon, will be headed to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point this fall. Brookfield Village President Michael Garvey at that town’s village board meeting on June 13 presented Miller with a certificate of appreciation for his future service in the military and offered Miller his congratulations on the appointment.

Woman of the Year

Starr Donovan was named the 2010 Woman of the Year by the St. Barbara Parish Council of Catholic Women at a ceremony in May. The Rev. Robert Casey presented the award to Donovan while acknowledging outgoing 2010 Woman of the Year, Vivian McDermott.

Each year the St. Barbara CCW recognizes one woman for outstanding service to the parish. Donovan, who has been a parishioner for 50 years, graduated from St. Barbara School and has been a member of the CCW for 28 years. She is the group’s membership chairwoman.

Donovan is active in of the organization’s fundraisers and events, particularly the Adopt-A-Family project each Christmas. She is also a sacristan, working behind the scenes to help set up for holidays, weddings, funerals and evening masses.

Auxiliary, sworn officers honored

In May, the Brookfield Auxiliary Police Corps announced it was awarding three of its members with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a national award offered in recognition of their volunteer service.

Among those honored were auxiliary officers John Cisneros, William Klein and Andy Zontos for the volunteer service during 2010. Klein logged 177.75 volunteer hours last year, while Cisneros volunteered for 140 hours and Zontos for 100.

The Brookfield Auxiliary Police have five unpaid auxiliary officers who donate their time by accompanying sworn officers on patrol and assisting at village events. Since its inception in 1951, the corps had logged more than 150,000 volunteer hours on behalf of the village of Brookfield.

Riverside Police Officer Leo Kotor received a letter of commendation from the Northern Illinois Police Alarm System (NIPAS) on May 24 for management of the Emergency Service Team’s new equipment truck, for which Kotor spent numerous hours researching, consulting, designing, modifying and inspecting on his own personal time.

Lt. William Legg, Sgt. William Gutschick and Officer Fabian Navarro of the Riverside Police Department attended a memorial street-naming ceremony at 51st Street and South Leamington in Chicago on May 24.

The ceremony was to memorialize Chicago Police Officer Michael P. Gordon, who was killed in the line of duty in 2004 when his squad car was struck by a drunk driver, who was also killed in the crash.

Gordon, the son of former Riverside Deputy Chief Robert Gordon, worked as a police officer in Riverside prior to being employed in Chicago. His shield was retired by the Riverside Police department following his death.

In May, six Riverside police officers were honored by the Illinois Department of Transportation with drunk driving enforcement pins. Riverside police made 77 DUI arrests in 2010. Officers receiving the pins included Brian Greenenwald. Jim Lazansky, John Cairo, Edwin Ruiz, Jeffrey Miller and Daniel Marrello.

On campus

Brookfield resident Anne Sventy and Riverside resident Claire Schraidt in May were awarded Ann Willard Scholarships from the Riverside branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Each received a check for $750.

Sventy plans to pursue a career in commercial art at the University of Dayton. She was involved in the mural project for the Arcade Building in downtown Riverside through Riverside-Brookfield High School.

Schraidt studies dance at the Academy of Movement and Music in Oak Park and wants to be a professional ballet dancer. She will be attending the University of Utah, majoring in dance performance.

Cecilia Payne, of Brookfield, has been named a recipient of a Faculty Scholarship to Grand Valley State University. Payne, a graduate of Riverside-Brookfield High School, is the daughter of Marvin and Cecilia Payne.

Riverside resident Anna Lusthoff graduated summa cum laude from Gettysburg (Penn.) College on May 22. In addition, Lusthoff received the collage’s Senior Prize at the Spring Honors program the day before graduation. Lusthoff majored in Spanish literature at the liberal arts college of about 2,600 students adjacent to the Gettysburg National Military Park.

Jacqueline K. Walsh, of Riverside, was named to the dean’s list for the winter 2011 semester at Northern Michigan University in Marquette, Mich. Her grade-point average was between 3.25 and 3.99 for the term. In May, Walsh earned her bachelor’s degree in athletic training, graduating cum laude.

Brookfield resident Laura E. Sedivy was one of 15 students at Illinois State University who have been chosen as a Robert G. Bone Scholar for the 2011-12 school year. The scholarship is the highest award given to undergraduate students and includes a monetary award. The mean GPA of this year’s scholarship recipients is 3.97 on a 4-point scale. Sedivy is a biological sciences major.

Laura Enriquez, of Riverside, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2011 semester at Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, Conn. To receive the honor, a student must achieve a 3.6 GPA or better on a 4-point scale.

North Riverside resident April A. McGee was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2011 semester at Bradley University in Peoria. Dean’s list students must achieve a GPA of 3.5 or better for the semester on a 4-point scale.

Riverside resident Michael Sit was named to the dean’s list for the second semester of the 2010-11 school year at Hope College in Holland, Mich. Dean’s list students must attain a GPA of 3.5 or better to be considered for the award. A senior, he is the son of James and Phyllis Sit.