Riverside-Brookfield High School librarian and English teacher Allison Cabaj has won the American Library Association’s 2012 MAE Award, which is given annually to the Young Adult Library Services Association member who has developed the most outstanding reading or literature program for young adults.

Cabaj’s program, Bulldog Abe Readers, centers around 22 books featured on the annual Abraham Lincoln Illinois High School Book Award list. As they read books on the list, students post comments, reviews and recommendations on a blog created by Cabaj.

Cabaj will receive $500 for herself and $500 for the school library.

Lyons Township High School English teacher and WLTL radio advisor Chris Thomas was elected to the board of directors for the Intercollegiate Broadcast System, a nonprofit organization serving more than 700 high school and college radio stations across the nation.

He was also appointed to the National Advisory Board at Wartburg College, his alma mater.

Lyons Township High School Spanish teacher JoEllen Gregie has been invited by the College Board Advanced Placement Program to serve as an AP reader at this year’s annual AP reading. In June, she will be among the 11,500 college faculty at AP teacher from around the world who will gather to evaluate and score 14.5 million free response answers on the AP tests.