Nancy Schulze

Dave Moravecek received the Bill Jansky Distinguished Citizen Award from the Riverside Township Lions Club at the club’s May meeting. 

Each year since 2007, the club has honored a township resident who has demonstrated a strong commitment to volunteerism and service to the community, as exemplified by the late Lion and community leader Bill Jansky, who was an outstanding example of this spirit of dedication to service and help to others.

In his 11th year as president of the Riverside Chamber of Commerce, Moravecek is owner of Ivins/Moravecek Funeral and Cremation Services in Riverside and has been a funeral director for 36 years.

 Moravecek is a 26-year resident of Riverside, living here with his wife, Gosha, and children, Mark and Caitlyn

He also is a member and director of the Riverside Township Lions Club; former board member of St. Mary School in Riverside; volunteer, coach and board member on Riverside youth sports leagues; 39-year member of Cardinal Council, Knights of Columbus; founding member of the Riverside/Brookfield Rotary Club; and member of the now-defunct Riverside Kiwanis Club.

The award was named in honor of longtime Lions Club member Bill Jansky, who died in 2006. He was a past president of the club and Riverside Man of the Year in 1979 and received the prestigious Melvin Jones Fellowship Award in recognition of his many contributions to the club and to the community.

In addition to having his name added to the plaque that hangs in Riverside Township Hall, Moravecek will be recognized by the donation of a book in his name to the Riverside Public Library.

Zoo recognizes volunteers

Riverside resident Nancy Schulze received the prestigious 2016 TWIGA Award from the Chicago Zoological Society for her outstanding volunteer contributions at Brookfield Zoo’s Volunteer Recognition Dinner on May 1.

TWIGA is Swahili for “giraffe,’ which is the animal symbol of Brookfield Zoo’s volunteer program.

Other local volunteers recognized for their years of service were Riverside residents Joan Canchola (40 years), Joanna Block (30 years) and Ben and Marc Adelman (15 years); and Brookfield residents Teri Marsh-Souders (30 years), Sheryl Jedovnicky (15 years), Mary Johnson (15 years) and Lisa Lindberg (five years).

First responders honored

Nearly a dozen Riverside first responders were honored in May at the Loyola Medical Center EMS Recognition Breakfast, which recognizes first responders within the Loyola system with commendations for exceptional pre-hospital life-saving care.

Paramedics and EMTs from the Riverside Fire Department received commendations for four incidents during 2015, including the birth of a child in a vehicle, a serious bicycle vs. vehicle collision and two cardiac arrest calls.

Those receiving the awards were Alejandro Barajas, Matt Buckley, Robert Cooper, Mike Guevara, Christopher Kamin, Lisa Olejarz, Donald Michalik, Christopher Malik, James Mulligan, Loraine Psenicka and Jason Vaccaro


Ryan Malkowski of the financial services firm Edward Jones in Riverside has been authorized by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards to use the certification mark CFP. Malkowski completed the CFP Board’s initial certification requirements, which include completion of financial planning coursework and passing a comprehensive examination.

On campus

Kristin Santoro of North Riverside graduated magna cum laude with a major in communication sciences and disorders at the commencement ceremony held May 22 at Augustana College in Rock Island.

North Riverside resident Erin Ulanowicz has graduated from Carthage College in Kenosha with a bachelor’s degree in public relations and communication.

Justine Esposito, of Riverside, was among those receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree during the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee commencement ceremonies held May 22.

Brookfield residents Jennifer Frieberg and Elizabeth Larson and Riverside resident Rachel Corcoran were among the nearly 5,000 University of Kansas students receiving degrees at the May 15 commencement ceremonies on the Lawrence campus.

Frieberg earned a bachelor’s degree in speech-language-hearing with a minor in psychology; Larson earned a B.S. in civil engineering; Corcoran earned bachelor’s degrees in political science and global and international studies and a minor in business.

Katherine Andrulis, of Brookfield, was recognized for academic achievement, namely, Pick-n-Pen, during the 2016 Honors Convocation at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio, in May.

Jacob Dzierwa was among a group of 13 John Carroll University (University Heights, Ohio) students who earned awards at Model Arab League conferences during the spring 2016 semester. The MAL is a debate simulation based on the League of Arab States.

Nicole Kmet, of Riverside, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2016 semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee. Kmet is pursuing a degree in nursing.

Tara Kaplan of Riverside was named to the spring 2016 semester dean’s list at Edgewood College in Madison, Wisconsin for earning a grade-point average of 3.75 of higher after completing 24 credit hours of study.

Julia A. Borge, of Riverside, was named to the dean’s list at the College of William and Mary (Williamsburg, Virginia) for the spring 2016 semester. Students must earn a GPA of at least 3.6 during the semester to qualify for inclusion on the dean’s list.

Grace Cody, of Riverside, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring 2016 semester at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Brookfield resident Jacqueline Skokna qualified for the spring 2016 dean’s list at Belmont University in Nashville by attaining at GPA of at least 3.5.

Hannah Claywell and Olivia Lauritsen, both of Riverside, were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2016 semester at Hope College in Holland, Michigan, for attaining at GPA of at least 3.5.

Among those named to the dean’s list for the spring 2016 semester at Bradley University in Peoria were Brookfield resident Lorelei N. Volpe and Riverside resident Renee F. Miedlar. Students must attain a GPA of at least 3.5 to be on the dean’s list.