Henry Turcotte (second from left)

Carrie Zalewski, chairwoman of the Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC), has been appointed to serve on the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest. NARUC President Brandon Presley made the appointment following the NARUC 2020 Winter Policy Summit in Washington, D.C.

 “I am honored to be chosen to serve on this very important committee,” said Zalewski, whose appointment was announced in February, in a press release. “As regulators, we must always be cognizant of the impact our choices will have on the consumer. I look forward to exchanging ideas and best practices with colleagues from across the country as we deal with a wide variety of issues while ensuring that consumer protection efforts remain at the forefront of the discussion.”

 The primary focus of the Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest is to analyze the expanded and evolving role of state commissions in protecting consumer interests. With technology changing at a record pace and competitive energy and telecommunication markets continuing to grow committee members are addressing new consumer protection challenges.

 Zalewski, a Riverside resident, was appointed chairwoman of the Illinois Commerce Commission on April 15, 2019, by Illinois Gov. J.B. Pritzker. She had previously served for 10 years as a regulator on the Illinois Pollution Control Board. Zalewski is also a member of the NARUC Committee on Electricity.

On display

American Quilter’s Society has announced that Janet Egan, of Brookfield, has been accepted as a contestant with her quilt, “Stars and Scraps,” at AQS QuiltWeek in Paducah, Kentucky, April 22-25.

AQS QuiltWeek-Paducah features over 400 quilts from around the world, with hundreds of quilters competing for $121,250 in cash awards. Quilts in this international contest and exhibition come from around the world, with entries from 41 states and 16 countries.


Riverside police Sgt. Leo Kotor recently graduated from the Northwestern university center for Public Safety’s Executive Management Program. The three-week course is designed to prepare top- and mid-level law enforcement managers and supervisors for senior agency positions.

On campus

Catherine Humphrey, of Brookfield, was among the more than 1,770 students receiving degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison during the winter commencement ceremony on Dec. 15, 2019. Humphrey was awarded a Bachelor of Science degree in economics.

North Riverside resident Jessica Jimenez and Riverside resident Audrey Santora were named to the 2019 fall semester dean’s list at Washington University in St. Louis for earning a semester grade-point average of at least 3.6 on a 4-point scale.

Brookfield resident Isabella Nardi and Riverside resident Ike Jebb were named to the honor roll of distinction for the 2019 fall semester at the University of Kansas.

Brookfield residents Maddie Hanrahan and Ryan Swift were named to the 2019 fall semester dean’s list at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington for attaining a semester GPA of at least 3.5.

Hanrahan and North Riverside resident Lidija Kutlesa, both vocal performance majors, also are taking part in the university’s Collegiate Choir spring concert tour through March 20.

Killian Elwart, of Brookfield, was named to the honor roll at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh for the 2019 fall semester for achieving a GPA of at least 3.3 for the semester.

David Kodama, of Riverside was named to the 2019 fall semester dean’s list at the University of Minnesota for attaining a semester GPA of at least 3.66.

Riverside resident Charlie Marcou was named to the dean’s list for the 2019 fall semester at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan, for maintaining a GPA of at least 3.5.

Riverside-Brookfield High School student Lindsey DeJesus has been named a finalist in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the contest by taking the Preliminary SAT exam. About 15,000 finalists were recognized.

Riverside residents Anna Milleker and Veronica Cariveau and Brookfield resident Katelyn Malikowski were among those who helped raise more than $2.8 million for the University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital last month by participating in the school’s student-led Dance Marathon, which has raised more than $30 million since the first event in 1995.

Brookfield residents Jobran Abou Assaf, Yadhira Anacleto, Cristian Bonilla, Ema Bothwell, Taylor Duncan, Ruth Garfias, Arely Gutierrez, Elma Isic, Grace Moore, Jazmine Morales-Gerdzunas, Jessica Quintero and Katelyn Sommerfeld were among the more than 260 Lyons Township High School Spanish-language students recently inducted into the Leon Chapter of the Spanish Honors Society for attaining a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 in all classes, including Spanish, and studying a Level 3 or higher Spanish class.

Brookfield resident Ethan Vasquez, a senior at Lyons Township High School, took top prize at the first ever eSports tournament hosted by the school’s eSports club. The tournament featured 40 players in a single-elimination format, using the game Super Smash Brother Ultimate.

Lyons Township High School junior Henry Turcotte, of Brookfield, was part of the Scholastic Bowl team that placed fourth at the Class 3A Masonic Academic Bowl Sectional Tournament at Fenton High School last month. Teams compete by answering questions on topics including history, science, fine arts and literature.