The District 102 Delegate Assembly flexed its muscles again on April 6, with all three of its endorsed candidates winning election to the LaGrange-Brookfield School District 102 Board of Education, according to unofficial results tabulated by the Cook County Clerk’s Office.

With all 21 precincts reporting, Edward Campbell, Jessica Mandra and Michael Melendez were the leaders in the four-candidate race. Campbell, a Brookfield resident, who led the school district’s effort to build a lab to test students for COVID-19, was the leading vote-getter with 1,502 votes.

Mandra collected 1,457 votes, while school board President Michael Melendez had 1,416.

Gertsen-Briand was appointed to the school board last November after Michael Thomas left to take a seat on the Lyons Township High School District 204 board. By that time, the Delegate Assembly had already made its endorsements, which meant Gertsen-Briand’s candidacy was not considered by the Delegate Assembly.

She finished, unofficially, with 1,173 votes, nearly 250 votes behind Melendez for the third and final spot.

Narrow margin in race for final D94 seat

The lone incumbent running to remain on the Komarek School District 94 Board of Education appears to have hung onto his seat by finishing fourth in a five-person race that heavily featured new faces.

Frank Savaglio (632 votes) was ahead of first-time candidate Raul Jasso (563) by just 69 votes with four of five precincts reporting, according to the Cook County Clerk’s unofficial vote totals late on April 6. Willie D. Merrill holds the lead for the third seat on the board with 651 votes, and appears to be safe.

The top two spots do not appear to be in doubt, however.

Melissa Obrock, who was a leader of the school’s two referendum campaigns, leads the field comfortably with 803 votes, followed by fellow first-time candidate Holly Neumann (751 votes).