Josh Czerak

North Riverside Police Officer Josh Czerak was recognized by the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists (AAIM), a nonprofit organized by the victims of drunk driving crashes to combat driving under the influence, for having made 100 DUI arrests during his career.

Czerak, an officer with the department since 2017, was presented with a certificate of achievement from AAIM Executive Director Rita Kreslin during a brief ceremony at the April 17 meeting of the North Riverside Village Board.

On campus

Brookfield resident Abagail Roussin was recently initiated into the Western Illinois University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, an all-discipline collegiate honor society. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10% of seniors and 7.5% of juniors are eligible for membership. Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

Marlena Barrido, of Brookfield, was inducted into the Mortar Board National Honor Society during the annual Tapping of the Mound ceremony at the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa on April 7. Mortar Board is a national honor society for students based on leadership, scholarship and service and is considered one of the highest honors that can be granted to seniors.

Barrido was also inducted into the Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society at the same ceremony.

In February, Lyons Township High School students from WLTL and LTTV held their annual Rock-A-Thon fundraiser where during a 65-hour period they took to the airwaves to raise funds for their stations.

This year the students raised $27,283, the fifth-highest total ever and more than double last year’s fundraiser.

In addition, Brookfield resident Jake Gripp, a senior who is involved with WLTL, won the award for Most Creative Program at the 83rd Annual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Conference in New York City. WLTL’s faculty advisor, Chris Thomas, won Faculty Advisor of the Year.

Brookfield resident Bazil Bednar, a senior at Lyons Township High School, was among the members of the school’s Business Professionals of America club receiving recognition during the BPA State Leadership Conference in Oak Brook. 

Bednar received honorable mention awards in the extemporaneous speech and human resource management competitions.

Brookfield residents Jocelyn Arellano (cosmetology), Alexandra Griffin (nursing assistant training), Katlyn Nicol (cosmetology) and Elizabeth Oraha-Rosa (professional cooking, baking and service) were among the Lyons Township High School students named to the Technology Center of DuPage’s A-Team for the first semester of the 2022-23 academic year for outstanding achievement in their respective programs at the school.