Brookfield resident Derek Baker's art work was a winner in Lyons Township high school's Recycled Art Contest.

Riverside native and Oberlin College senior Mitchell Herrmann has been named a Marshall Scholar, which he plans on using to fund two years of study in the United Kingdom.

The scholarship is named in honor of former Secretary of State George C. Marshall and commemorates the ideals of the Marshall Plan and the relationship between the British and American people.

Herrmann is majoring in Technology in Music and Related Arts and cinema studies at Oberlin. He plans on earning two master’s degrees while in the UK, the first at the University of Manchester in electroacoustic composition and the second at De Montforte University in Leicester, where he will complete a theory-based research degree in music.

He plans on returning to the United States to complete his doctoral degree in music composition.

According to a press release published by Oberlin College, the Marshall Scholarship is among the most competitive of undergraduate fellowships. The application process culminates in interviews with previous scholarship winners and the British Consul General.

Herrmann became interested in British electroacoustic composition during his second year at Oberlin. The composers create music by recording sound from the real world and then using computer software to create music pieces from the sounds.

On campus

Brookfield resident Derek Baker, a sophomore at Lyons Township High School, was recently named a winner in the school’s Recycled Art Contest. All of the works accepted had to be made from at least 70 percent reused material.

Halloween themes were encouraged. Baker’s piece was inspired by the show Little Shop of Horrors.

Winners received a gift card and their art was placed on display at the North Campus library throughout the month of November.

Nazareth Academy in LaGrange Park has released the names of honor roll students for the first quarter of the 2015-16 school year.

Those making the A Honor Roll (3.8-4.0 GPA) were Brookfield residents Gloria Corona, Jeremy Kolasa, Braden Schneider, Brittany Schneider and David Sullivan; North Riverside residents Guillermo Arroyo and Danny Zontos; and Riverside residents Gregory Bernasek, David Hertogs, Carlie Merola and Hana Sedivy.

ON the B Honor Roll (3.33-3.79 GPA) were Brookfield residents Jocelyn Contini, Gina Crisanti, Gunnar Hendrix and Archer Wagner; North Riverside resident Connor O’Neill; and Riverside residents Ben Bernasek, Allyson Jones and Schylar Rokicki.

The following local students have been named to the honor rolls at Fenwick High School in Oak Park for the first marking period of the 2015-16 school year. 

Achieving first honors were Brookfield resident Amanda Lopez and Riverside residents Kimberly Burda, Clare Durkin, Michael Faul, Isabella FioRito, Dylan Gresik, Sean Herbert, Riley Mullen, Theresa Mullen, Elizabeth Carlson, Thomas Hennelly, Garrett Javors, Grace Tucek, William Flaherty, Amy Kucera, Jonathon Kulhanek, Jack Lulich, Rachel McCarthy, Anna Milleker, Dennis O’Bryan, Alec Polston, Michael Saganich, Theresa Wagner, Patrick Walsh, Natalie Rodriguez, Isabella Baumann, Anthony Frontzak, Kelly Carpenter, Sarah Wiener, Skye Ozga, Kyle Dubanowich, Stefanie Manchen, Michael McDonough, Haley Legan, Amelia Marconi, Mariano Mollo, Nora O’Connor, Jack Polston, William Showel, Jack Vomacka, Sophia FioRito, Justin Wakely, Gabrielle Nolan, Timothy Carey, Laura Durkin, Emily Burda, Ryan Dubanowich, Keely Mahoney, Aoife Mulvihill, Michelle Saganich and Natalie Skiest.

Achieving second honors were Brookfield residents Thomas Reyes and Bryan Miller; North Riverside residents Anais Diaz, Ethan Gerstner and Kira Luna; and Riverside residents Mark Birmingham, Benjamin Chmura, Brendan Jones, Ryan Jones, Brendan McDonough, Kathleen Suess, Thomas DiMonte, Benjamin Lulich, Sean Muldowney and Claire Gatermann.