The Riverside Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) presented trophies and certificates to the 10 winners of the organization’s annual poster contest.

More than 200 posters were submitted and displayed in the Riverside Public Library during March, which was Women’s History Month. All fourth-grade students in District 96 and St. Mary School were eligible to participate.

The winners received gift certificates from Aunt Diana’s Old Fashioned Fudge and all were recognized at a reception sponsored by the Riverside Public Library.

The first place winners (and the subjects of their posters) were:

Ames School: Ella Elizabeth Ference (Anne Frank), Erin Johnson (Clara Barton) and Marcus Adam Kubon (Mother Teresa).

Blythe Park School: Antonio Gutierrez (Amelia Earhart).

Central School: Danielle DiMonte (Florence Nightengale), Faye O’Bryan (Babe Didrikson Zaharias) and Joseph Wanner (Clara Barton).

Hollywood School: Makato Scheuermann (Helen Keller)

St. Mary School: Gabby Acosta (Helen Keller) and Clara Kalas (J.K. Rowling)

The Riverside Branch of the AAUW has offered the poster contest since 1997. The group’s local philanthropy committee, co-chaired by Robin Benoy and Nancy Dvorak, organizes the event.

The Riverside AAUW sponsors local awards in support of education, including scholarships for young women graduating from high school.