Bridget Wilmot

UCP Seguin of Greater Chicago has named of one of its group homes in honor of Jeffrey R. Tobolski, Cook County commissioner and mayor of McCook. 

The Tobolski House, at 4306 Blanchan Ave. in Brookfield, is home to residents with developmental disabilities. It was formally dedicated in a ceremony on Nov. 29, 2018 in recognition of Tobolski’s service to UCP Seguin.

Since joining the Cook County Board in 2010, Tobolski has advocated for and facilitated nearly $700,000 in funding for UCP Seguin to rehabilitate dozens of group homes, making them safe, accessible, energy efficient and functional. 

He also worked on UCP Seguin’s behalf to secure forgiveness of $1.3 million in Cook County HOME Loans, helping sustain the agency’s fiscal viability. Tobolski also serves as co-chair of the UCP Seguin “Life Without Limits” Capital Campaign, working to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars towards a new employment and life skills training center; establish a new group home for four individuals and complete needed  rehabilitation to current UCP Seguin group homes and centers.

“Jeff is truly one of UCP Seguin’s Guardian Angels, ” said UCP Seguin’s President/CEO John Voit in a press release. “He continually looks for ways he can help us and better the lives of individuals with disabilities.”

First elected in 2010, Tobolski has served as Cook County Commissioner from the 16th District, which includes all of North Riverside and parts of Riverside and Brookfield.

Fab faculty 

In December, five teachers at Riverside-Brookfield High School– James Baum (music/band), Marc Helgensen (English/newspaper sponsor), Allison Marsh (English/yearbook sponsor) Bridget Wilmot (English/instructional technology coordinator) and Suzanne Zimmerman (visual arts) — were notified that they’d earned their National Board Certification, putting them among the ranks of just 118,000 teachers nationwide to have received that designation.

The two-year process involves teachers demonstrating standards-based evidence of the positive impact they have on student learning through samples of student work, videos of their teaching and written analysis.

Teachers also must sit for an exam that assesses their content knowledge through essay-style questions. 

On campus

Riverside resident Benjamin Bernasek and Brookfield resident Abigail Hosack were named to the dean’s list for the 2018 fall semester at University of Wisconsin-Whitewater for attaining a grade-point average of at least 3.4 on a 4-point scale.

Brookfield resident Anthony Landahl (communications) and Riverside residents Jocelyn Navarro (communications) and David Suriano (interactive game design) were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Bradley University in Peoria for attaining GPAs of at least 3.5 for the semester.

Meaghan Dorsey, of Brookfield, was named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Knox College in Galesburg. Dorsey is a biochemistry major.

Abigail Freed, of Riverside, qualified for the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Belmont University in Nashville for attaining a GPA of at least 3.5 for the grading period.

Riverside resident Matthew Pilewski has been named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin, for attaining a GPA of at least 3.5.

Brookfield residents Connor Berek and Christina Rossetti, North Riverside residents Camila Davila and Alivia Ranieri and Riverside residents Moira Dunn and DiAngelo Gonzalez were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Augustana College in Rock Island for attaining a GPA of at least 3.5 for the grading period.

North Riverside resident Bridget Halvey and Riverside residents Trevor Bork and Alyssa Schwarz were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin, by achieving a GPA of at least 3.5 for the semester.

The RBHS Chess Team placed third at the Argo Invite in November, with sophomore Peter Giannetos and junior Rokas Lukosevicius going undefeated in the team tournament. Freshman Neil Kinnan won all five of his matches and won the individual open tournament.

In December RBHS hosted the Metro Suburban Conference Math Competition, winning the competition overall in addition to several students taking home top honors. In Algebra 1, Ethan Dimanno took first place individually while the team of Dimanno, Felix Jacquet, Madelyn Wren, Caroline Marrero, Grayson Pacourek and Claire Schroeder also placed first.

In Algebra 2, John Turner took first individually while the team of Turner, Jacqueline DiMonte, Danny Kawiecki, Will O’Brien, Ryan Power, Grace Di Bartolomeo, Claire Kawiecki and Ben Udelson placed first.

The Freshman/Sophomore 8-Person Team of Dimanno, Marrero, Pacourek, Wren, Cain Gonzalez, Jack Jameson, Ryan Lach and Isabella Linares took first place, as did the Junior/Senior 8-Person Team of Di Bartolomeo, Danny Kawiecki, O’Brien, Power, Michael Kusz, Luke Malovic, Joey Vitek and Elise Wojack.

Also placing first was the Calculator Team of Jacquet, Peter Giannetos, DiMonte, Joe Kawiecki and Andres Resto.

A dozen Brookfield residents were among the 278 Lyons Township High School students named Illinois State Scholars for their academic achievements.

Among those named state scholars were Tyler Bernklau, Emma Dahl, James Gatsos, Jordan Gatsos, Caroline Geisert, Owen Gieseke, Bianca Mendez, Nicholas Ortiz, Sarah Schaber, Justin Soltis, Adam Strzelczyk and Mackenzie Thomas.

Illinois State Scholars include those ranking in the top 10 percent of the state’s high school graduating seniors.

David Sullivan, a senior from Brookfield, was among the 14 students at Nazareth Academy in LaGrange Park chosen for the inaugural Young Community Changemakers program, a leadership program designed to educate and empower local youth to become the next generation of philanthropists.

Thirty students from Nazareth and Lyons Township High School were selected, based on a written application and recommendations.