Matthew Ivansek

The Frederick Law Olmsted Society of Riverside elected new officers for 2019 during their annual meeting in January at the Riverside Public Library.

Taking the reins as president will be Cathy Maloney. Other top officers are Cindy Kellogg, vice president; Olivia Murphy, secretary; and Theresa Pelletier, treasurer.

Board members renewing their terms are Yvonne Lucero and Jim Harrington, Holly Machina and Jason Kinnan, Janice O’Flaherty and Tony and Phyllis Pecelunas.

New board members include Bob and Judy Finn, Corina and Stefan Pambuccian and Diana and Jim LaMantia.

The society also announced at the meeting that it would host a housewalk in September. The last Olmsted Society housewalk was held in 2015.

Have bass will travel

Riverside resident Adam Wang, a freshman at Luther College in Decorah, Iowa, traveled to Vienna, Austria, with the college’s symphony orchestra for a month-long residency from Jan. 10 to Feb. 4.

The trip concluded with a performance at the Musikverein, the home of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

Wang, the son of Daniel Wang and Darcy Lewis of Riverside, plays the double bass in the Luther College Symphony Orchestra. While in Austria, the student musicians visited Mozart’s birthplace and attended several performances at some of Vienna’s finest concert halls, among other cultural activities.

On campus

Sam Kazmierowicz, of Brookfield, was among the approximately 340 undergraduates receiving their degrees from the University of Dayton during the winter 2018 commencement ceremony in December.

Olivia Novak, of Brookfield, has graduated magna cum laude from Edgewood College in Madison, Wisconsin. Novak earned a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing.

Karolina Hodurek, of Riverside, graduated from the Lakeview College of Nursing during the institution’s fall commencement ceremony held in Danville. She is a 2014 graduate of Riverside-Brookfield High School and the daughter of Maria Konier and Marcin Hodurek, both of Riverside.

Riverside resident Emily Pitts, who is majoring in professional writing and information design, and North Riverside resident Andrew Lemesurier, who is majoring in finance, were named to the dean’s list for the 2018 fall semester at Cedarville (Ohio) University.

Riverside resident Aidan Kaiser was named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list of the College of Letters and Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The University of Dayton announced its 2018 fall semester dean’s list for students achieving a GPA of at least 3.5. Among those on the dean’s list are Brookfield residents Mayra Baeza, Gina Crisanti and Hunter Soumar and Riverside residents Molly Gates and Hannah Michl.

Riverside resident Derek Johnson received a Chancellor’s Award from the University of Wisconsin-Stout for attaining a GPA of at least 3.5 during the 2018 fall semester.

Julia Boge, of Riverside, was named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, for achieving a GPA of at least 3.6 during the semester.

Riverside residents Ryan Kodama and Isabella Legan were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Iowa State University for earning a semester GPA of at least 3.5.

Jeremiah Clarkson, of Brookfield, and Joshua Clark, of Riverside, were named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at Wheaton College for achieving a semester GPA of at least 3.5.

Riverside residents Fiona McMahon, Gianna Rumoro and Margaret Schereck have been named to the 2018 fall semester dean’s list at St. Mary’s College in Notre Dame, Indiana, for achieving a GPA of at least 3.6.

A trio of student-artists from Brookfield were among the 30 Lyons Township High School students recognized in this year’s Scholastic Art Awards regional competition with sophomore Aileen Flores advancing to the national competition later this year.

Flores won a Gold Key award in the jewelry category. She was one of 11 LTHS students to advance to the national competition.

Other Brookfield students recognized at the regional competition were freshman Kaylee LeClere (honorable mention, ceramics) and junior Pedro Hernandez (honorable mention, printmaking).

Brookfield resident Mina Fredona, a senior at Lyons Township High School, won an Award of Excellence for her artwork, which was recently on display at Elmhurst College’s 20th Annual High School Art Exhibition.

Also recognized for his artwork was junior Pedro Hernandez, of Brookfield, who won an Award of Distinction.

Nazareth Academy in LaGrange Park has announced its honor rolls for the first semester of the 2018-19 school year. Among those recognized were the following:

A Honor Roll: Brookfield residents Grace Acosta, Gwenyth Acosta, Leilani Dodson, Gunnar Hendrix and David Sullivan and Riverside residents Matthew Ivansek, Carlie Merola and Elizabeth Pilarz.

B Honor Roll: Brookfield residents Ashley Gamboa, Elijah Pesek and Braden Schneider; North Riverside resident Diego Arroyo; and Riverside residents Michael Almeida, Griffin Hartnett, David Hertogs, Justin Rokicki and Jazzmin Martinez.

Lyons Township High School junior Megan McLean and senior Adam Strzelczyk, both of Brookfield, were among 27 LTHS students qualifying for the state competition of the Business Professionals of America Club at the regional contest held in January.

The BPA state competition will be held in March. At regionals, McLean placed second in Banking and Finance while Strzelczyk placed fourth in Fundamental Accounting.

Kip Friend, a graduate of Hauser Junior High in Riverside, was among the 23 St. Laurence High School students named Illinois State Scholars from the Class of 2019. Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top 10 percent of high school seniors across the state based on standardized test scores and class rank. 

Riverside resident Matthew Ivansek will represent Nazareth Academy’s Class of 2021 at one of the 70 Hugh O’Brian Youth (HOBY) Leadership Seminars to recognize their leadership talents and apply them to become effective, ethical leaders in their homes, school, workplace and community.