Lyons Township High School science teachers Michelle Wrona and Leilani Lopez each were awarded 2012 Outstanding New Teacher of the Year recognition by the Chicago Drug and Chemical Association, which works with the Illinois Science Teachers Association to recognize new educators dedicated to teaching science. Each teacher received a cash prize of $500.